A Basic Guide to the Chakras: Throat, Third Eye, & Crown

I get a lot of questions regarding the chakras and what each one does or is. In our western world, we are not taught the energetic channels of the body and their purposes unless we specifically search for the information on them, so I’m going to give a basic overview of what each chakra is and its main function. If you have not already, begin with the Root and Sacral chakras HERE and then to the Solar Plexus and Heart chakras HERE.

There are 12 Chakras

Traditionally, there are twelve chakras: seven bodily chakras and five etheric ones. In any healing work, we generally only deal with the bodily chakras and the eighth chakra, known as the Auric Chakra, located under the feet. The other four (located far above the crown of the head) are our connection to the Universe via spirituality; the possible and causal; the real self vs. the transcendental self; and our highest consciousness.

I will be going over the seven bodily chakras – the ones that affect our physical bodies and how we see them manifest through emotions, dis-ease, challenges, and strengths.

The Throat Chakra (Vissudha)

The Throat chakra is the fifth chakra located at the throat center and is represented by the color light blue. It is characterized by the term “I SPEAK.” It is a Sound element and controls the bronchial system, vocal cords, lungs, parathyroid glands, and thyroid.

The Throat chakra is the center of communication, self-expression, and truth. It’s where our creativity comes out and how we let our personal truth be known. An easy way to remember what Vissudha does, is that speech comes from the throat.

Vissudha gets blocked via not communicating our thoughts, desires, wants, passions, and true nature. It gets blocked from stuffing down emotions during times of strife, or not reclaiming our power verbally.

A blocked Throat chakra manifests as:

Sore throat Neck pain
Frequent headaches Inability to express thoughts
Shyness Social anxiety
Inhibited creativity Stubbornness
Detachment TMJ

To balance the Throat chakra, we do things like:

  • Repeating affirmations aloud
  • Releasing negative energy and anger
  • Speaking up for yourself
  • Practicing honesty always
  • Meditation for the throat chakra
  • Aromatherapy with pungent herbs
  • Singing
  • Mantra repetition aloud
  • Sound baths with the note G
The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The Third Eye chakra is the sixth chakra located one finger above the eyebrows in the middle of the forehead and is represented by the color indigo. It is characterized by the term “I SEE.” It is a Light element and controls the pineal gland.

The Third Eye chakra is the seat of intuition and clair-senses. An easy way to remember what Ajna does, is that intuition comes from the third eye.

Traditionally, Ajna gets blocked when we are emotionally distressed, have an illness, or a lot of conflict in our lives. In my opinion, the Third Eye chakra really gets blocked early on in childhood when we are told not to have imaginary friends, or that we are imagining any spirit that we see. It also gets blocked when we use our minds to solve situations instead of listening to our gut reaction.

A blocked Third Eye chakra manifests as:

Disconnection from yourself, others, & nature Intense sensitivity to light
Sleep imbalances Unexplained depression
Inability to remember dreams Underactive imagination
Ear infections/Sinus problems Headaches

To balance the Third Eye chakra, we do things like:

  • Sound baths with the note A
  • Reiki or energy healing
  • Yoga
  • Acupuncture
  • Unblocking the lower chakras
  • Aromatherapy with wood and citrus notes
  • Shamanic rituals with a trusted and experienced guide
  • Expanding the higher consciousness
The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The Crown chakra is the seventh bodily chakra located above the head and is represented by the color violet. It is characterized by the term “I KNOW.” It is not represented by an element, and it does not control any physical organs. However, as an energy healer, when the Crown chakra is blocked, I see it manifested as neurological issues.

The Crown chakra is known as the bridge to the cosmos and is the center of spirit, enlightenment, wisdom, universal consciousness, and connection to higher guidance. An easy way to remember what Sahasrara does, is that the crown we wear is guided by the Divine.

Sahasrara does not act like the other six bodily chakras. It is generally blocked in everyone due to layers of trauma, ancestral wounds, karma, forgetting that we are Source, rebirths in human bodies, and attachment to ego. The signs of a blocked Crown chakra present themselves the same way as when going through a Spiritual Awakening, just in differing degrees.

A blocked Crown chakra (on a day-to-day basis) manifests as:

Psychosis Not open to ideas, thoughts, or knowledge
Dissociation Disconnected
Ungrounded Isolation & Loneliness
Lack of direction Feeling spiritually disconnected

To balance the Crown chakra, we do things like:

  • Sound baths with the note B
  • Meditation
  • Aromatherapy with sacred woods (sandalwood, cedarwood, palo santo)
  • Inversions
  • Reiki and energy healing
  • Connecting to Source energy
  • The practice of non-attachment

I hope you’ve all enjoyed this Basic Guide to the Chakras! Chakras are not something that get healed and stay well; it’s a lifestyle practice and constant monitoring to keep your beautiful body in balance due to external forces in our 3D world. But the feeling of flowing energy through you, the feeling of stability, emotional security, personal power, and intuition are worth every minute you spend paying attention to them.

All my best and highest vibrations,


Tout le stock disponible est dans le panier

Votre panier est vide.