A Basic Guide to the Chakras: Solar Plexus & Heart

I get a lot of questions regarding the chakras and what each one does or is. In our western world, we are not taught the energetic channels of the body and their purposes unless we specifically search for the information on them, so I’m going to give a basic overview of what each chakra is and its main function. If you have not already, begin with the Root and Sacral chakras HERE.

There are 12 Chakras

Traditionally, there are twelve chakras: seven bodily chakras and five etheric ones. In any healing work, we generally only deal with the bodily chakras and the eighth chakra, known as the Auric Chakra, located under the feet. The other four (located far above the crown of the head) are our connection to the Universe via spirituality; the possible and causal; the real self vs. the transcendental self; and our highest consciousness.

I will be going over the seven bodily chakras – the ones that affect our physical bodies and how we see them manifest through emotions, dis-ease, challenges, and strengths.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The Solar Plexus chakra is the third chakra located two fingers above the belly button and is represented by the color yellow. It is characterized by the term “I DO.” It is a Fire element and controls the bladder, nervous system, stomach, liver, pancreas, and adrenal glands.

The Solar Plexus chakra is our personal power. It’s where we take control, take responsibility, make decisions, and have self-discipline. It’s our independence and our sense of self. An easy way to remember what Manipura does, is remembering that intuition, or our gut feelings are the most important part of self.

Manipura gets blocked via any form of self-suppression, either through a childhood where we were taught to be submissive or were undermined, all the way to our personal relationships where we have to stuff feelings down or have a hard time moving on.

Though all chakras can be overactive instead of blocked, the Solar Plexus chakra is the most common to be hyperactive. It presents itself as mania, anxiety, reactivity, outwards anger, egotism, aggression, and IBS-D.

A blocked Solar Plexus chakra manifests as:

Feeling helpless Wanting to control surroundings
Myopic viewpoint Lack of purpose
Low self esteem Guilt
Digestive issues Bloating
Nausea Acid Reflux
Anger towards self Lack of boundaries

To unblock the Solar Plexus chakra, we do things like:

  • Learn to create boundaries
  • Cutting ties with negativity (both people and situations)
  • Affirmations for personal power
  • Breath of Fire
  • Releasing anger
  • Breaking habits and routine
  • Backbend Yoga Asanas
  • Aromatherapy with herbal and woody scents
  • Sound bath with the note E
The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The Heart chakra is the fourth chakra located in the center of the chest (at the heart) and is represented by the color green. It is characterized by the term “I LOVE.” It is an Air element and controls the endocrine glands, immune system, circulatory system, blood, heart, and thymus gland.

The Heart chakra is our center of all love: self-love, love for others, and universal love. An easy way of remembering what Anahata does is based on love coming from the heart. Sounds simple enough, but it is the basis for all of our compassion, and when this chakra is blocked or overactive, it is both physically and emotionally painful.

Anahata gets blocked by heartbreak, any life experiences with a strong emotional charge, physical ailments, or significant changes in the surrounding environment. It becomes overactive when the Heart chakra is overcompensating for the lack of energy flow in other chakras. I personally have an overactive Heart chakra from a repetitive blockage in my solar plexus chakra due to lack of ever having personal power in my life growing up.

A blocked Heart chakra manifests as:

Loneliness/Being withdrawn Depression/Anxiety
Holding grudges Finding it hard to feel empathy
Pining for an old relationship Trust issues
Keeping emotions bottled Commitment issues
Avoiding socialization/shyness Judgmental
Self-sabotaging behavior Feeling of rejection

An overactive Heart chakra manifests as:

Lack of boundaries Acceptance of others without discernment
Codependency Saying "yes" to everything
Loving indiscriminately Neglecting self-care due to taking care of others
Willing to put up with abuse Victimization
Jealousy/Possessiveness Feeling overwhelmed by emotions
Clinginess Struggle with receiving love

To balance the Heart chakra, we do things like:

  • Release unhealthy relationships
  • Practice self-care
  • Therapy/Counseling
  • Backbend Yoga Asanas countered by forward fold Yoga Asanas
  • Sound bath with the note F
  • Aromatherapy with floral scents
  • Drinking mint tea
  • Self-love meditations
  • Loving affirmations

Stay tuned!

I hope you can make the time and space to practice some of these chakra balancing rituals. It’s amazing when we can feel the blockage open up and all of a sudden things come pouring in that we hadn’t felt in a long while (or ever)!

Next up will be the Throat, Third Eye, and Crown chakras.

All my best and highest vibrations,


All available stock is in the cart

Your cart is currently empty.