A Basic Guide to the Chakras: Root & Sacral

I get a lot of questions regarding the chakras and what each one does or is. In our western world, we are not taught the energetic channels of the body and their purposes unless we specifically search for the information on them. I will split them up into three posts, so make sure to check out the other ones as they’re posted!

There are 12 Chakras

Traditionally, there are twelve chakras: seven bodily chakras and five etheric ones. In any healing work, we generally only deal with the bodily chakras and the eighth chakra, known as the Auric Chakra, located under the feet. The other four (located far above the crown of the head) are our connection to the Universe via spirituality; the possible and causal; the real self vs. the transcendental self; and our highest consciousness.

I will be going over the seven bodily chakras – the ones that affect our physical bodies and how we see them manifest through emotions, dis-ease, challenges, and strengths.

The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The Root chakra is the first chakra located at the base of the spine, and is represented by the color red. It is characterized by the term “I AM.” It is an Earth element and controls the spinal column, kidneys, adrenals, coccygeal body (also known as Luschka’s gland), and gonads.

The Root chakra is our base, our grounding. It is what gives us our stability, our calmness, our feeling of safety, and keeps us out of the flighty air mode. An easy way to remember what Muladhara does, is it roots our energy into the manifest, 3D world that we live in. In my opinion, it is the most important chakra, since without a foundation, a house cannot be laid.

Muladhara is also the first chakra to go out of balance or get blocked. When we suffer any form of trauma in our childhood, the Root chakra takes the brunt of the energy. Over time and the more the Root chakra takes on, the more ungrounded we become. When we are severely ungrounded, the rest of our chakras then begin to back up and also become blocked. Think of it like plumbing – if there’s a clog in the pipe, the water will back up.

A blocked Root chakra manifests as:

Anxiety Fear
Panic attacks Worry
Overthinking Nightmares
Dissociation Anger or rage
Depression Compulsive behavior
Lower back pain Addiction


To unblock the Root chakra, we do things like:

  • Earthing (walking barefoot outdoors)
  • Grounding meditation
  • Grounding Yoga poses
  • Sitting on the floor (helps when you’re having a panic attack or anxiety)
  • Energy work
  • Sound baths with the note G
  • Grounding aromatherapy
  • Healing from childhood trauma
The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

The Sacral chakra is the second chakra located about two fingers below the belly button, and is represented by the color orange. It is characterized by the term “I FEEL.” It is a Water element and controls the bladder, kidneys, and spleen.

The Sacral chakra is in charge of our emotions, desires, and sexuality. It stimulates pleasure when it is flowing with energy, and allows us to express our sexual desires openly. It is the home of creativity and sensuality. An easy way to remember what Svadhisthana does, is via the location – on the sex organs.

The most common way for Svadhisthana to become blocked is via any form of sexual trauma. If that is linked with childhood trauma as well, then it’s a double whammy of blocking both the first and second chakra. Any form of sexual shaming, promiscuity due to trauma instead of choice, or simply boredom, repetition, or being stifled can block the Sacral chakra.

A blocked Sacral chakra manifests as:

Menstrual cramps/PMS issues Reproductive issues
Decrease or insatiable sexual appetite UTI's
Kidney dis-ease or issues Lower back pain
Opposition to spontaneity Emotionally closed off
Difficulty expressing emotions Being guarded
Feelings of guilt Low self worth

To unblock the Sacral chakra, we do things like:

  • Hip opening stretches
  • Acupuncture
  • Dancing with the eyes closed
  • Sound baths with the note A
  • Chakra balancing meditation
  • Journaling
  • Swimming
  • Aromatherapy with warm, spicy scents

Stay tuned!

I hope you can make the time and space to practice some of these chakra balancing rituals. It’s amazing when we can feel the blockage open up and all of a sudden things come pouring in that we hadn’t felt in a long while (or ever)!

Next up will be the Solar Plexus and Heart chakras.

All my best and highest vibrations,


All available stock is in the cart

Your cart is currently empty.